Agent Sonic Agent Sonic Get access now
← See all articles

How Much Does OpenAI Dots Cost? Is It Free? (2026)

Quick answer: No, OpenAI dots aren't free. As of launch (September 29, 2026), your first dot is included at no extra charge only with ChatGPT Pro or Business Premium, so the cheapest way in is ChatGPT Pro at $100/month ("Pro Standard"), or $1,200 a year, or a Business Premium seat at $100/month billed annually ($125 monthly). Free, Go and Plus don't include a dot. Pro $200 ("Pro More") and the new Pro 500 ($500/month) also include one dot with bigger usage allowances. More dots, extra speed and more workload will cost extra later, at prices OpenAI hasn't disclosed.

Your AI assistant is already in WhatsApp. Get Sonic today.

Reminders that actually fire. Follow-ups Sonic sends for you and reports back. PDFs, contracts and invoices summarized in seconds. Your Google Calendar handled by text, and group chats that run themselves. Voice notes welcome. Nothing to install, nothing to learn: message Sonic like any contact. Try “Remind me to call the accountant every Monday at 9.” Leave your details and you’ll get Sonic’s number right away.

Get access now

Is OpenAI Dots free?

No. As of launch on September 29, 2026, you can't get a dot on ChatGPT Free, Go or Plus. The cheapest way in is ChatGPT Pro at $100 a month, or a Business Premium seat at $100 a month billed annually.

The "included" part you'll see in headlines is narrower than it sounds. Your first dot comes at no extra charge with Pro and Business Premium, so you aren't paying extra for the dot, but you are paying for the plan. For one person on Pro, that's a $1,200-a-year minimum.

There are two smaller freebies. Chatting with your dot doesn't count toward ChatGPT usage limits. And for the first month, dot usage doesn't count toward eligible plan allowances. We'll get to what does count below, because that's where the real bill lives.

Quick refresher on what you're buying: a dot is OpenAI's always-on personal agent, powered by GPT-6 Astra. It gets its own cloud computer and browser, connects to 4,000+ apps, and keeps working toward your goals 24/7 after you close the chat. The real question isn't whether it's free. It's whether you need that much machine.

$100/mo
Cheapest way to get a dot
ChatGPT Pro Standard, or a Business Premium seat billed annually
$1,200
Minimum yearly cost
12 months of ChatGPT Pro Standard
None
Dots on Free, Go or Plus
Dots require Pro, Business Premium or an enabled Enterprise/Edu/Healthcare beta
$500/mo
Top Pro tier
Pro 500: highest usage plus Ultrafast speed
OpenAI dots pricing at a glance (as of Sept 29, 2026)

Which ChatGPT plans include a dot, and what does each cost?

Every ChatGPT Pro tier and Business Premium include one dot. Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare get dots as a beta that's off by default until an admin switches it on. Free, Go and Plus don't get dots at all.

DevDay also reshuffled Pro, which is why the pricing looks messy. The $100 plan is now called Pro Standard. The $200 plan is now Pro More, and it got smaller: its Codex and ChatGPT Work allowance was cut from 20× Plus to 10× Plus, and GPT-6 Pro message caps dropped from 200 to 100 a week. Existing $200 subscribers keep their current limits for a while, then get a one-time credit.

At the top sits the new Pro 500 at $500 a month, with the highest usage and the "Ultrafast" speed tier, up to roughly 300 tokens per second in Codex and Work. Paying more buys allowance and speed, not extra dots: at launch, each plan includes one.

Business Premium, which launched in August 2026, costs $100 per seat per month billed annually, or $125 month to month. It matters for another reason: Business Premium gets dots in all supported ChatGPT regions, including Europe and the UK, while Pro dots skip the EEA, Switzerland and the UK at launch.

Two fine-print items apply to every plan. You must be 18 or older and in an eligible market. And dots are rolling out gradually, so paying today doesn't guarantee your dot shows up today.

PlanPriceDot included?What's different
Free, Go, PlusFree and lower paid tiersNoNo dot on these plans at any price
Pro Standard$100/monthYes, 1 dotCheapest route to a dot
Pro More$200/monthYes, 1 dotCodex/Work allowance cut to 10× Plus; GPT-6 Pro capped at 100/week
Pro 500$500/monthYes, 1 dotHighest usage + Ultrafast (~300 tokens/s in Codex and Work)
Business Premium$100/seat/month billed annually, or $125 monthlyYes, 1 dotDots in all supported ChatGPT regions, incl. Europe and UK
Enterprise, Edu, HealthcareNot covered hereBetaOff by default until an admin enables it
Which ChatGPT plans include OpenAI dots (as of Sept 29, 2026)

Do you need ChatGPT Pro $200 for Dots, or does $100 work?

$100 works. Every Pro plan includes a dot, including the $100 Pro Standard tier.

The confusion is real, and it started on launch day. Early reports from outlets including TechCrunch and BGR said dots were only on the $200 Pro tier, not the $100 one. An OpenAI staffer then clarified that dots are included in all Pro plans, including Pro $100, plus Business Premium and Enterprise.

So if you read a launch-day story telling you to budget $200 a month, it's out of date. The difference between the tiers is how much work you can push through and how fast, not whether you get a dot.

When does $200 or $500 make sense? When your dot will run heavy tasks in Codex or ChatGPT Work, because those tasks count toward your plan's allowance and the higher tiers give you more of it. Pro 500 adds Ultrafast speed on top. Just remember that Pro More's allowance was cut at DevDay, so $200 buys less than it did before September 29.

What's included in the price, and what will cost extra later?

Your plan includes one dot. More dots, extra speed and more workload will cost extra later, and OpenAI hasn't disclosed those prices.

What that one dot gets you at no extra charge: its own cloud computer and browser, 24/7 background work, connections to 4,000+ apps, proactive read-only research across your connected apps, memory of your preferences, Custom Rules for what needs your approval, and the Activity View to watch, pause or reset it. You reach it in ChatGPT, Slack and Teams, and on Pro in the US there's a limited SMS beta (carrier charges may apply).

The usage fine print is where the bill can creep. Chatting with your dot doesn't count toward ChatGPT usage limits. But tasks your dot runs in Codex or ChatGPT Work do count against your plan's allowance. For the first month, dot usage doesn't count toward eligible plan allowances at all, which means month one won't show you what month two really looks like.

What happens when your dot eats through the allowance? OpenAI hasn't spelled it out. What it has said is that more workload, extra speed and additional dots will be paid extras later. And OpenAI clearly envisions "teams of dots working together on your behalf," so if that's your plan, treat $100 a month as a floor, not a ceiling.

One cost that isn't money: setup requires the ChatGPT desktop app or desktop web, since you can't create a dot on mobile. If you run your business from your phone, you'll need a computer at least once.

ItemStatus at launch
First dotIncluded with Pro and Business Premium
Chatting with your dotDoesn't count toward ChatGPT usage limits
Dot tasks in Codex or ChatGPT WorkCount toward your plan allowance
Dot usage in the first monthDoesn't count toward eligible plan allowances
Additional dotsExtra cost later; price not disclosed
Extra speed for dotsExtra cost later; price not disclosed
More workloadExtra cost later; price not disclosed
SMS textingUS-only Pro beta; carrier charges may apply
OpenAI dots: what's included vs. what costs extra (as of launch)

Your AI assistant is already in WhatsApp. Get Sonic today.

Reminders that actually fire. Follow-ups Sonic sends for you and reports back. PDFs, contracts and invoices summarized in seconds. Your Google Calendar handled by text, and group chats that run themselves. Voice notes welcome. Nothing to install, nothing to learn: message Sonic like any contact. Try “Remind me to call the accountant every Monday at 9.” Leave your details and you’ll get Sonic’s number right away.

Get access now

How does OpenAI Dots pricing compare with Meta Muse?

Meta Muse is cheaper to start, since it has a free plan and the cheapest dot costs $100 a month. But the two price in very different ways, and Muse's free plan comes with a catch.

Muse, which launched September 8, 2026 in the US, has three tiers: Free (about 100M tokens a week), Power at $20 a month (about 500M tokens) and Maximum at $100 a month (about 3B tokens). The tiers differ in capacity, not features. The catch: even the free plan requires a payment card on file, because Muse is built to make purchases. We explain why in does Meta Muse's free plan need a credit card.

OpenAI prices by plan: you pay for Pro or Business Premium and get one dot plus that plan's allowance. Muse prices by tokens, which is precise but hard for normal people to budget. Few of us know how many tokens "find a plumber and remind my team about Friday" burns.

At $100 a month the two meet: Muse Maximum and ChatGPT Pro Standard cost the same. Where you live matters as much as price, though. Muse is only in the US and Canada, and Pro dots are unavailable in the EEA, Switzerland and the UK. For the full tier-by-tier view, see our Meta Muse pricing guide.

OpenAI dotsMeta MuseAgent Sonic
Start without paying?NoYes, but a card must be on fileSee tryagentsonic.com
Cheapest paid option$100/month (Pro Standard)$20/month (Power)No price quoted yet
What $100/month gets youPro Standard + 1 dotMaximum (~3B tokens)n/a
Top tier$500/month (Pro 500)$100/month (Maximum)n/a
How usage is meteredPlan allowances; chatting with your dot doesn't countTokens per tiern/a
Where you use itChatGPT, Slack, Teams, US SMS betaApp, web, WhatsApp (US and Canada)WhatsApp, wherever it works
OpenAI dots vs Meta Muse vs Agent Sonic: price to start (as of Sept 29, 2026)

Is $1,200 a year for OpenAI Dots worth it?

It's worth it if you'll keep a cloud agent busy with real knowledge work. It's hard to justify if what you actually need is reminders, follow-ups and someone to read the PDF your supplier just sent.

Pay for Pro if you'd use a dot the way OpenAI demos it: researching across your inbox and documents, catching the invoice you forgot to send and drafting it from the email thread, investigating bugs posted in Slack, turning a design into a working app. If you already live in ChatGPT, Slack or Teams and bill for your time, a dot that saves you a few hours a month can earn back its $100.

Think twice if your assistant needs are mostly admin: remembering calls, chasing people for answers, nudging a group, checking a calendar. You'd be paying for a 24/7 cloud computer and 4,000 integrations to do what a well-timed reminder does. And a dot doesn't live where your family, clients and staff message you, because WhatsApp isn't a dot channel at launch.

Also factor in supervision. OpenAI admits dots can make mistakes, and consequential actions go through approval rules and auto-review. That's the right design, but it means a dot is something you manage, not just something you pay for.

The yearly math: Pro Standard is $1,200, Pro More $2,400 and Pro 500 $6,000. A Business Premium seat is $1,200 billed annually or $1,500 if you pay monthly. All of that comes before any future charges for extra dots, speed or workload.

Pro Standard
1,200
Business Premium (annual)
1,200
Business Premium (monthly)
1,500
Pro More
2,400
Pro 500
6,000
Yearly cost of the plans that include a dot (USD, as of launch)

What's the lighter alternative if you just need help in WhatsApp?

If your real need is reminders, follow-ups and documents inside WhatsApp, Agent Sonic is the lighter answer: no desktop setup, no ChatGPT plan to upgrade, just a contact you message. You get access at tryagentsonic.com/contact, leave your details, and receive Sonic's number and onboarding.

Here's what that looks like in practice.

"Remind me to send the rent invoice on the 1st of every month." Sonic sets a recurring reminder and pings you in WhatsApp every month.

"Message Omar and ask if the delivery is still on for Wednesday. Let me know what he says." Sonic messages Omar on your behalf and reports his answer back in your chat.

You forward a contract PDF: "Anything in here about cancellation fees?" Sonic reads the document and tells you what it says, so you're not scrolling a 12-page file on your phone.

In your team's WhatsApp group: "Every Sunday at 6pm, remind everyone to confirm this week's schedule." Sonic posts the reminder in the group automatically, every week.

A voice note from the car: "Put lunch with Priya on my calendar Thursday at 1 and add 'bring the proposal' to my to-dos." Sonic updates Google Calendar and your to-do list, and can reply with a voice note.

Be clear-eyed about the trade. Sonic doesn't make purchases, doesn't have 4,000 integrations, doesn't run a cloud computer for hours of autonomous coding or research, and isn't in Slack or Teams. If you need those, Pro is the right spend. If you need everyday admin handled where you already talk, in English, Hebrew, Arabic or whatever language your chats are in, Sonic fits without a desktop, a new app or a Pro plan.

Before you commit $1,200 a year to get reminders and follow-ups, try the lighter route: get access to Agent Sonic at tryagentsonic.com/contact and send it your first "remind me."

You sendSonic does
"Remind me to send the rent invoice on the 1st of every month."Sets a recurring reminder
"Message Omar and ask if the delivery is still on."Messages Omar, reports his answer back
Forwarded contract PDF + "Anything about cancellation fees?"Reads the document and answers
In a group: "Every Sunday at 6pm, remind everyone…"Posts the group reminder weekly
Voice note: "Put lunch with Priya on my calendar."Adds the Google Calendar event and the to-do
Agent Sonic in WhatsApp: what you send, what happens

Frequently asked questions

Is OpenAI Dots free?

No. As of launch (September 29, 2026), dots aren't available on ChatGPT Free, Go or Plus. Your first dot is included at no extra charge with ChatGPT Pro (from $100/month) or Business Premium, so you pay for the plan, not the dot.

What is the cheapest way to get OpenAI Dots?

ChatGPT Pro Standard at $100 a month, which works out to $1,200 a year. A Business Premium seat also costs $100 a month billed annually ($125 month to month), and it's the route that includes dots in Europe and the UK, where Pro dots aren't available at launch.

Do I need ChatGPT Pro $200 to get Dots?

No. Early launch-day reports said dots were $200-only, but OpenAI clarified that every Pro plan includes a dot, including Pro $100. The $200 Pro More and $500 Pro 500 tiers add bigger allowances and, on Pro 500, Ultrafast speed, not extra dots.

Does ChatGPT Plus include Dots?

No. Dots aren't available on Free, Go or Plus. You need a Pro plan or Business Premium, or an Enterprise, Edu or Healthcare workspace where an admin has turned on the beta.

How much does an extra dot cost?

OpenAI hasn't said. At launch each eligible plan includes one dot, and OpenAI says more dots, extra speed and more workload will cost extra later without disclosing prices.

Does using my dot count against ChatGPT usage limits?

Chatting with your dot doesn't count toward ChatGPT usage limits. Tasks your dot runs in Codex or ChatGPT Work do count toward your plan's allowance. For the first month, dot usage doesn't count toward eligible plan allowances.

What's the difference between Pro $100, Pro $200 and Pro 500 for Dots?

All three include one dot. Pro $100 (Pro Standard) is the entry point; Pro $200 (Pro More) has a Codex/Work allowance of 10× Plus, cut from 20× at DevDay, and GPT-6 Pro capped at 100 messages a week. Pro 500 at $500/month has the highest usage plus Ultrafast speed of up to about 300 tokens per second in Codex and Work.

Is there a cheaper OpenAI Dots alternative for WhatsApp?

If you mainly need reminders, follow-ups, group reminders and document checks in WhatsApp, Agent Sonic works entirely inside WhatsApp with no desktop setup. You can get access at tryagentsonic.com/contact. Meta Muse has a free plan too, but it's only in the US and Canada and needs a card on file.

Your AI assistant is already in WhatsApp. Get Sonic today.

Reminders that actually fire. Follow-ups Sonic sends for you and reports back. PDFs, contracts and invoices summarized in seconds. Your Google Calendar handled by text, and group chats that run themselves. Voice notes welcome. Nothing to install, nothing to learn: message Sonic like any contact. Try “Remind me to call the accountant every Monday at 9.” Leave your details and you’ll get Sonic’s number right away.

Get access now

How helpful was this article?

Articles by Agent Sonic →